Connor McMahon wins Percy DeWolfe race

Connor McMahon won the 45th Percy DeWolfe Memorial Mail Race in Dawson City the morning of March 7, crossing the finish line unofficially at 4:12 a.m.

Aiyana O’Shaughnessy was the second musher into the finish, followed closely by Nathaniel Hamlyn in third.

Defending champion Jason Biasetti finished fourth, having carried one of his dogs back from Forty Mile in his sled bag.

McMahon was led in by Mako in single lead, after his other leader, Grotto, got a little too rambunctious and focused on Mako.

At the dogyard after the race, McMahon said the race had a bit of everything.

“Yesterday we had the beautiful scenery and everything like that,” McMahon said. “Then tonight we had the night run on the river, and the jumble ice is actually rather exciting. I’ve never gotten to experience anything like that before and I think I might actually like it.”

As of 6 a.m. on March 7, Paul Hamlyn and Jonathan Lucas also appear to have reached the finish line – the official race website has not been updated to include finish times – and Marcelle Fressineau is just one kilometre from the finish.

Krys March is on the trail from Forty Mile to the finish, roughly 68 km from Dawson City.

Jess Sears is either at the finish or on the trail to the finish. Sears left Forty Mile at 11:17 p.m. on March 6, but her tracker has not updated since she reached Forty Mile.

Kyla Boivin scratched from the race, returning to Dawson City.